Amazon’s Android App Store: No Thanks!

Apps from Amazon routinely phone home and other interesting details

I left my Viewsonic gTablet sitting at home while I was at a conference last week. The battery died while I was gone, and when I charged again I noticed 2 interesting details. The first is that all the apps wanted to check with Amazon before I could open them. What’s truly curious is that I only have free apps. Some, like the Kindle app, have always been free and always will be free. But even the free Kindle app insisted on contacting Amazon before I could do anything with it.

Boldfaced emphasis added by me.

This is just wrong wrong wrong.

He mentions free apps here. Amazon can argue this is the “price of free” (though good luck getting people with brains to accept that Orwellianism).

But what happens if you’re in a disaster zone, there’s no working wireless, and you need to access a free app that gives first aid or other survival advice? Or what if it’s a legitimately-purchased eBook that requires the free Kindle reading program?

This is an equation for one hell of a lawsuit.

Until I learn otherwise, I will be skipping the Amazon Android App Store.

Leave a comment

Filed under Amazon Kindle, Android, Free Ain't, Friction, Other Hardware, Stupid

Leave a Reply

