Daily Archives: April 16, 2011

Memo To Print Publishing

World’s oldest man dies in Montana at 114

Embrace change, even when the change slaps you in the face. (“Every change is good.”)

And:

“I think every change that we’ve ever made, ever since I was a child — 100 years — every change has been good for the people,” Breuning said. “My God, we used to have to write with pen and ink, you know, (for) everything. When the machines came, it just made life so much easier.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Reference

Trying RSS Again

And I will blame writer Jimmy Lee Shreeve if this doesn’t work out again.

He left a Comment here raving about bits of Opera I’ve never used.

I tried RSS with Google Reader and it was a disaster.

Now I’m trying it with Opera.

We’ll see how this goes on Monday when the feeds I’ve subbed to really start pumping out posts.

Update: Well, that experiment died hours later. If I’m understanding correctly, I must have an Opera Mail account. And it’s just not working for me. I keep getting a dialog box popping up telling me login has failed. Over and over and over again. And apparently, to use RSS, I must have an Opera Mail account. So, I killed the Mail account and killed the RSS too. Maybe RSS will be practical when I have a tablet of some kind.

5 Comments

Filed under Blog Notes

Politician Blames Apple For Ruining World

Just last week:

Congressman stands by his proposal: An iPad for every student

Rep. Jesse Jackson Jr. (D-Ill.) said he stood-by a proposal he made last week that could result in the federal government providing an Ipad for every student in the nation, despite a barrage of criticism he has suffered from the media in recent days.

“Let me be clear about a few things,” Jackson said, brandishing both an Apple iPad and an Amazon Kindle on the House floor. “These devices are revolutionizing our country — and they will fundamentally alter how we will educate our children.”

And now this week:

Rep. Jesse Jackson Jr. Blames The iPad For Killing Jobs

“A few short weeks ago I came to the House floor after having purchased an iPad and said that I happened to believe, Mr. Speaker, that at some point in time this new device, which is now probably responsible for eliminating thousands of American jobs. Now Borders is closing stores because, why do you need to go to Borders anymore? Why do you need to go to Barnes & Noble? Buy an iPad and download your newspaper, download your book, download your magazine,” Rep. Jesse Jackson Jr. (D-IL, Chicago) said on the House floor Friday afternoon.

Borders is closing because it was run into the ground by a moron Suit like you!

No wonder this country is doomed.

These idiots in office can’t recall what they say one week to the next!

7 Comments

Filed under Stupid

Another Sign Of Our Times

Photos taken today, Saturday April 16, 2011:


Click = big

Continue reading

1 Comment

Filed under Collapse, Pottersville

The Final Final Days Of A Closing Borders Store

Photos taken today, Saturday April 16, 2011:

I don’t know how long that “Final 4 Days” sign has been up, but it’s still open.


Click = big

Continue reading

Leave a comment

Filed under Bookstores

Citibank: Bad Writers Can Self-Publish With Us!

As Jimmy Durante would say, Everybody wants to get into the act!


Click = big

Continue reading

Leave a comment

Filed under Stupid