Why Is WordPress Doing This?


Click = big

I’m beginning to wonder of they’re going slightly mad over at WordPress.

If you’re seeing that footer overlay on this blog, I want you to know that’s not my doing.

WordPress tends to change things without warning. Most of the time, they just do it and then a day later give an explanation in a post.

Meanwhile, I’ve repeatedly asked for a “Place All” button for photos — so I won’t have to manually place over a hundred photos in a post — and they seem to think their crappy Gallery is somehow adequate for such a task. It is not. People like to scroll. They don’t want some goddammed software giving them a slideshow that can go tits-up on them. Neither do I!

Anyway, if you’re seeing that stupid overlay, I didn’t request it or put it there. And if I can find a way to get rid of it, I will.

If you’re not seeing that, then never mind.

4 Comments

Filed under Blog Notes

4 responses to “Why Is WordPress Doing This?

  1. I see it and can tell you that your blog is on infinite scroll and that’s why it’s there. You can place something in your footer and then go to settings and turn it off to to get rid of it. If you’ve decided to keep it then never mind

    • mikecane

      Whoa! I never wanted this blog to have Infinite Scroll. I will go kill that right now. Thanks.

      Later:

      I can find no Setting referencing scroll. I think WordPress might be trying shit and I’ll wait for their blog post. Right now, I’m not seeing the footer.

      • Wait. Are you allowed to add widgets to your footer? If so, put one there or two. Then go to settings and deactivate infinite scroll. Seems they are rolling these out on themes without notification of course.

      • mikecane

        I will wait for their damn blog post that explains how to kill it. This is getting too complex. WP has Settings all over the damn place. I see the Infinite Scroll now. Just didn’t scroll far enough before, I suppose.

Leave a Reply

