Daily Archives: July 17, 2012

New Nook Tablet With New Pixel Qi Screen?

B&N prepping new 7-inch tablet with ‘revolutionary screen technology’

Now we’re getting word from a credible source that Barnes & Noble, a 7-inch pioneer with its Nook Color and Nook Tablet, is set to bring out a new 7-inch model that features “revolutionary screen technology.”

The source, who’s proven reliable in the past, wouldn’t elaborate on the specifics of that technology but said that it was developed in-house by Barnes & Noble (with the help of “another company”) and had not been seen in another product before.

Boldfaced emphasis added by me.

I think it’s Pixel Qi.

Continue reading

3 Comments

Filed under Barnes & Noble Nook

StyleTap Puts PalmOS On Android

StyleTap for Android

So finally a method comes along that pushes me closer to dumping my ancient and heavy and now-sketchy LifeDrive (yes, I got it to work again, by duct-taping the On/Off slider and using software to turn if off!).

I’ve asked StyleTap via Twitter if this will run on Android Jelly Bean on the Nexus 7. No reply yet.

I also wonder what this looks like on a large screen. Can it be enlarged or is it a very small 320×320 (or 320×480) view lost on a 1280×800 or 1280×600 screen?

At any rate, courtesy of @webOSquire, after the break two screensnaps of it running on his new Samsung Galaxy SIII phone.

Continue reading

Leave a comment

Filed under Android, Other Hardware

Nook For Web: The Gotcha!

I was trying Barnes & Noble’s new Nook for Web.

It’s a very nice Cloud-based reading feature.

But I happened to switch to other tabs while I had one of the free sample books open and discovered the Gotcha.

Continue reading

5 Comments

Filed under Barnes & Noble Nook, Digital Overthrow