iPad Mini: 8GB WiFi Base Model US$249

iPad Mini Shows Up in the Stock System for a German Retailer – 249 Euros & Weak Specs

I’ve highlighted the upper-end prices. Since Apple tends to do a straight number swap between Dollar-Euro prices, that’s US$549 for a 64GB WiFi-only model. Is that the most expensive 7″-Class tablet or what? And US$649 for a 64GB cellular model (3G? 4G?) — well, I can’t even imagine someone paying that. The WiFi-only 64GB for US$549 makes me choke a bit as it is.

Is 8GBs actually usable? I can imagine someone filling their storage quickly with video — unless Apple won’t give this a rear camera, despite all the other alleged leaks we’ve seen.

Let’s compare:

iPad Mini 8GB WiFi 7.85″ screen – $249
Kindle Fire HD 8.9 16GB WiFi 8.9″ screen – $299
B&N Nook HD+ 16GB WiFi 9″ screen – $269

On a price basis, the Mini gets slaughtered for the value it offers.

But wait! There’s the trump card: All those iOS apps that will run as-is on that 1024×768 screen.

And also: It’s a freakin iPad! A mini iPad!

6 Comments

Filed under iOS

6 responses to “iPad Mini: 8GB WiFi Base Model US$249

  1. RicDay

    Apps mostly take little space; music, movies, and ebooks will presumably be streamed on demand from iCloud, so 8 GB as a base isn’t too bad.

  2. Sam

    8gb is too small for me. Wouldn’t even really consider getting that size for myself.

  3. 8GB is too small, but it’s done because Apple want you to buy the next model up. That extra $100 is $96 of pure margin. You see this all the time in business. It’s smart, but annoying (especially if you know what they’re doing).

    Anyway, if it is $249, I think that’s a great price. I was personally expecting the base price to be $349 for 16GB (so I guess it fits my expectations, for what they’re worth).

    I wouldn’t trust these numbers though. It’s probably just somebody making placeholders (or messing around). I’d also be surprised if it’s called the iPad mini, though you never know. I’m expecting it to just be the iPad, but advertised as the new, smaller iPad.

  4. From what I’m seeing you don’t need much memory on these web based OSs. The number of apps on an iPhone 4 8 gig that I maintain is absolutely more than I would want. I equate apps as a fancy bookmark that you would use in a browser. I personally do not like this setup as the damn thing requires net access to use. However, I have adapted and do use one now, because the choice is that or nothing. Don’t believe me, set your phone to airplane mode and turn off wifi. Instant paper weight. Now turn on your old Palm and see it run like a handheld computer. Conclusion, memory is dependent on the number of apps you want. Browser bookmarks are a much more efficient use of your phone.

Leave a Reply

