That Samsung Galaxy Note Phone

The League of Galaxy Note Women have issued a manifesto an official statement: Making the Move from iPhone to Android by Angela James (and Jane’s shocking conversion)

First, it has to be obvious by now, but the screen size rocks my world. The Galaxy Note 2 doesn’t have the biggest screen on the market but it does have one of the bigger screens. I love it, there’s nothing I regret about the size of this phone. If I need to hold it to talk, it doesn’t feel unwieldy (but I generally use headphones anyway because I spend a lot of time on the phone for work & holding a phone for hours, no matter what the phone, is annoying.) There’s a reason phones of these size are referred to as “phablets”, because the screen size makes it less like doing tasks on a phone and more like doing tasks on a tablet. But it’s still small enough to fit easily in my back pocket and even a small clutch. I haven’t had to change how I carry my phone, even with the upgrade in size.

The screen is really obviously larger. I can’t even count the number of times random strangers have asked me what I’m using. Including small children. Everyone is drawn in by the screen size. Going up in screen size has made a huge difference to me in using my phone. I find viewing cover art & emails, and searching or browsing the internet more practical than on the iPhone. I also use my phone as a reading device, and I’m an avid reader so use it heavily for this purpose, and being able to go up in screen size has made this even more enjoyable. Comparatively, when I pick up my husband’s iPhone5, I can’t believe how small the screen seems (and it’s worth mentioning that my husband is also now seriously contemplating a switch to a phone like this).

Boldfaced emphasis added by me.

At one time I was very enamored of the iPhone. But since the original Note was released, I can’t help thinking — and seeing — the iPhone is toy-sized.

The above post is worth reading even if you have no intention of switching.

The Galaxy Note keeps calling to me. If I had the money for it, I’d answer the call.

Here it is doing Chromecast:

This report says Samsung subverts Miracast: Samsung Galaxy S4 Screen Mirroring Is Not Miracast Compliant

However, here’s a video showing the Galaxy S IV in that report working just fine with a Netgear Miracast device:

Aside from showing Miracast working, I also discovered I have been missing out on a lot by not having a damn tablet. Look at all those video sources. Anyway, maybe Samsung devices won’t work with just the Tronsmart dongle?

An interesting tip for the Note 3:

Even Fake Jon Ive is cracking under the strain:

And I continue to be tormented by League members:

MoriahJovanNote011214

Additional:

An iPhone lover’s confession: I switched to the Nexus 4. Completely.

Previously here:

The League Of Galaxy Note Women Taunt Me
Happy Birthday, iPhone. You’re Doomed.
Galaxy Note 3, HTC One
Galaxy Note 2 As Desktop PC
Tech Fondle: Galaxy Note Phone, Again
Tech Fondles: Galaxy Note & Lumia 900 Phones
Samsung’s Galaxy Note Phone Is A Monster Hit

Leave a comment

Filed under Android

Leave a Reply

