Daily Archives: June 17, 2011

Quote Of The Day: Writer’s Hell Edition

AOL Hell: An AOL Content Slave Speaks Out

The Internet has created more readers than ever before in the history of the world. And yet, perversely, the actual writer is more undervalued than ever before.

Leave a comment

Filed under Quoted, Reference, Writing

Conclusion Of The Shadow Line On YouTube

The usual disclaimer: I didn’t put it there.

See after the break.

Continue reading

Leave a comment

Filed under TV, Video

Being Exposed To Bad Writing Is Like Taking A Bad Beating

At least it is to me.

I never should have watched all those episodes of Luther.

Dear god! My poor brain!

I need to be reminded there is good writing in this world.


Click = big

I wanted to read these last weekend. But where I packed them escaped me. My sheer desperation today led me to them in less than three minutes. The Survival Instinct for the win.

Aside from seeing if there are any Nook Touch rooting updates, I will be devoting the weekend to reading at least one of those. No other blogging until Monday.

And yeah, weep! While the Internet had it for a multiple of that price, I got Raymond’s rare out of print autobiography for just US$20 plus tax.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog Notes, Writers, Writing

TV: Luther, The Stupid Continues

I am about eight minutes into episode three and my will to live is fading.

Look, Neil Cross is probably a right bloke, but all he’s done so far is rearrange every fucking cliche I’ve ever seen over and and over again.

You might sse me bitch about this a few times more. I have to watch it because Kierston Wareing, who was Gabriel’s hot kick-ass partner in The Shadow Line, is in the first episode of the second season. So I’m watching the first season first.

What a price I am paying to see her again.

Previously here:

TV: Luther

Updated …

Continue reading

3 Comments

Filed under Stupid, TV, Writer, Writing

Apple Has A Patent For Blank Hardware UI

November 19, 2009: PUSHING A USER INTERFACE TO A REMOTE DEVICE

A graphical user interface (“GUI”) can be presented on a remote control accessory device that has user input and display devices. The GUI can be defined and managed by a portable media device that is controlled using the GUI. The portable media device can provide the accessory with a GUI image to be displayed. The accessory can send information to the portable media device indicative of a user operation of an input device in response to the displayed image. The portable media device can process this input to identify the action requested by the user and take the appropriate action, which can include updating the GUI image provided to the accessory.

That is the seed for using blank hardware.

Replace “portable media device” with “Cloud Server” and Apple already has it covered.

– via Patently Apple link

Previously here:

Steve Jobs’ Ultimate Goal: Blank Hardware And Apple Dial Tone
Blank Is The New Black

4 Comments

Filed under Apple: The Company, iOS

Nook Touch Rooting: June 17th News

Note: All Nook Touch rooting news of this day will be consolidated into this single post, with any updates at the end.

Update June 17: See end of post.

Let me get this out of the way first because I see this is an ongoing wall that people are hitting when they attempt to root their new Nook Touch. People get stuck at the Rooted Forever screen and don’t know what to do. This is because sites have given them these instructions:


Click = big

That is actual incorrect information I’ve been seeing on site after site. There is a step missing!


Click = big

Rename it before copying it to the Nook Touch!

If you missed the link on the 14th for a very good tutorial, here it is again: How to root Nook Touch and side load apps (Kindle, ADW launcher), review

Continue reading

Leave a comment

Filed under B&N Nook Touch Rooting