iPhone 6 Plus Mini-Fondle

I got to the Apple Store SOHO about 2PM.

There were still lines.

AppleStore09191402

And I do mean lines, plural.

The one on the right was just to get into the store to look or conduct non-iPhone 6 business:

AppleStore09191403

And the one on the left was just for iPhone 6 and still stretched:

AppleStore09191404

And BAM! here it is:

iPhone6Plus001

And here it is next to a Galaxy Note 3 someone dared to bring into the store:

iPhone6Plus006

Here’s this joint on the iPhone 6 Plus:

iPhone6Plus003

Why was I crazy enough to go to the Apple Store on Day One of iPhone 6? Because I had to know:

iPhone6Plus004

Oh hell yeah I went in to do the Google Books PDF Test!

I wasn’t sure I’d be able to do it. The WiFi was jammed. I even had to disconnect and reconnect:

iPhone6Plus002

And for the longest time, the file would get stuck, like it is here (see blue progress bar):

iPhone6Plus005

I had to stop and restart the download several times. Finally:

iPhone6Plus007

iPhone6Plus008

But that’s it open just in Safari. And I had other downloads going:

iPhone6Plus009

What was remarkable to me was that the downloads kept going when I popped out of Safari to the Home Screen or Settings. I guess such background multitasking has been going on since iOS 7? I haven’t kept up.

We’re still in Safari here:

iPhone6Plus011

iPhone6Plus012

Man, those page arrows were so damn small! And there was no visual feedback that I had hit them squarely.

Finally …

iPhone6Plus015

… ignore the moire pattern from the camera sensor. I didn’t apply a filter to get rid of it.

And BAM! iBooks:

iPhone6Plus016

iPhone6Plus017

Man, look at all that space at top and bottom! This is why I prefer tablets with 4:3 aspect ratio. 16:9/10 looks ass with Google Books PDFs.

iPhone6Plus018

iPhone6Plus019

Landscape is ugh:

iPhone6Plus020

And here we are in Safari again, with Surface Japan this time:

iPhone6Plus022

iPhone6Plus023

iPhone6Plus024

iPhone6Plus025

iBooks, with the special for-iOS condensed edition of The American Magazine:

iPhone6Plus028

And a crazy-crazy-ass maximum pinch-zoom into that page:

iPhone6Plus027

iOS 8 brings complexity to clearing mobile Safari after browsing. It’s now three screens deep to purge:

iPhone6Plus029

iPhone6Plus030

iPhone6Plus031

The iPhone 6 Plus might look like ass in pictures, but it’s not at all like that in person.

This is another piece of lust-tastic tech from Apple. The feel is lush. It’s incredibly thin. I mean, forget the damn pictures you’ve seen. You must feel the thinness. It sat very well in my hand.

As for that protruding camera? Holy crap, it sticks out so little that I had a hard time reconciling it in person to all the photos that made it look like a freakish blister!

In all, I spent about 35 minutes with it. I just wanted to get in the very basics of a Google Books PDF Test in so I could sleep tonight without wondering and wondering and wondering.

I didn’t try the camera or really anything other than what I’ve shown of Settings.

The WiFi was jammed and it was all I could do to get done what I did. I mean, even websites were having a hard time getting through. So, I didn’t want to take up any more time while there were other people who also wanted to experience it.

I still need to do the full version of The American Magazine at 290MBs. I want to see if mobile Safari will still crash instead of completing the download.

As for the test I did, I’ll be posting videos with my commentary and tentative conclusions. This post was just about experiencing the iPhone 6 Plus itself.

Oh, I also held the iPhone 6. I can see its appeal even though it’s “only” 4.7 inches. It also felt nice in my hand and was more amenable to being used single-handedly. But me, I’d want that iPhone 6 Plus.

However, I have absolutely zero intention of shedding my body bits.

Previously here:

Sizing Up The New iPhone 6 Series
Sina Tech News Reviews iPhone 6
TONS of iPhone 6 Shipped
How To Afford An iPhone 6
Now iLevon Of Xiaomi Has An iPhone 6
iPhone 6 Plus: No 32GB Version
iPhone 6 Plus: A Screen That’s Not Magical
Xiaomi Executive Has An iPhone 6
Xiaomi Executive Has An iPhone 6

Leave a comment

Filed under iOS

Leave a comment