No China Tablet News. Miscellany.

First, some tech.

This is not good:

Keyboard vulnerability may have put millions of Samsung devices at risk

This is a dilemma for users because even if they don’t use SwiftKey as the default keyboard it can’t be uninstalled from the device and Welton says that it can still be exploited even when it’s not the default keyboard.

This sounds like the death of the Alcatel OneTouch Idol 3:

Galaxy A8 pictures leaked

Specifications accompany the pictures, the Galaxy A8 is said to be powered by an octa-core Qualcomm Snapdragon 615 processor with 2GB RAM, 16GB internal storage with microSD card slot, a 5.7-inch Super AMOLED 1920×1020 pixel resolution display, 16-megapixel rear and 5-megapixel front camera, fingerprint reader in the home button, 4G LTE support and a 3,050mAh battery. It will run Android 5.1.1 straight out of the box.

Massive screen, probably China-only:

Unboxing Huawei P8 Max with 6.8-inch display and 4360mAh battery

To recap, the phone comes with a large 6.8-inch 1080p Full HD display which should definitely come in handy while reading and editing documents. Even the screen is big enough to fulfill your entertainment needs. Under the hood, the phone sports the 2.2GHz octa-core Kirin 930 processor with 3GB of RAM.

The rear camera will be of 13MP while up front, there will be a 5MP shooter. The company has smartly included a large 4360mAh battery to support its phablet sized display. As for software, the phone will run on the new Android 5.0 lollipop version. Pricing is expected to be around 3588 Yuan, which puts it in direct competition with flagships from market leaders such as Apple and Samsung.

3598YuanConvert

And now some reality:

How Homeless People Wake Up

I wake up several times during the night. First off, because I am an old man, I have to pee several times during the night – 3 to 5 times. The closest restroom is several city blocks away. But I’m not walking all that way just to pee. I’m certainly not going to leave me camp unattended, or break and reset camp that many times during the night. Instead, I have a couple large size McDonalds cups I keep with me. I pee into those until they are full. When the cups are full, I just pour out the contents in a flower bed or onto the street.

Sometime last night as I slept, I knocked over a full cup of my urine. Being that tents are rain proof, they are also pee proof. That is, pee won’t drain out of the tent. the only spare cloth I had was my sleeping bag. So I used that to dry up the pee. there’s nothing quite like a sleeping bag soaked full of urine. It was 5 am so I decided to get up anyway.

He has a Donate button at his blog (see upper right sidebar). If you read my blog, donate something to him as thanks. He can really use the help.

Leave a comment

Filed under Android, Collapse, Pottersville

Leave a Reply

