R.I.P. Composer James Horner

RIP Star Trek, Aliens & Avatar composer James Horner

Oscar-winning composer James Horner, whose scores graced two Star Trek movies as well as many of James Cameron’s SF films, has been killed aged 61 in a plane crash.

Horner was piloting a small aircraft which came down about 60 miles north of Santa Barbara, California on June 22nd.

His work was instantly memorable.

I first heard his scoring in the movie Battle Beyond the Stars. And then in Krull.

He soon graduated to major movies, with Star Trek, Aliens, A Beautiful Mind, and many more.

I don’t think there’s a single film composer left whose name I know whose music I like and look forward to like Horner’s.

Barry Gray, Jerry Goldsmith, Jerry Fielding, John Barry, Bernard Herrmann, and James Horner are now together. Heaven must be having one hell of a concert.

He did great work.

He will be very missed.

Rest in peace.

Additional:

James Horner Community on YouTube

1 Comment

Filed under R.I.P.

One response to “R.I.P. Composer James Horner

  1. Luke

    Heard some interviews about him and what a normal down to earth guy he was.
    I find it really strange that all these famous people died in a plane crash.
    Randy Rhoads, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Patsy Cline, John Denver, Ricky Nelson, Buddy Holly, Ritchie Valens, Collin McRay and probably forgetting some.
    I thought flying was very safe, …. makes me wonder

Leave a Reply

