Samsung Galaxy Tab S2 8.0 Super AMOLED: NO Blue Shift?!

Follow-up to: Samsung Galaxy Tab S2 8.0 Super AMOLED Annoys Me — wherein I complained the screen shifts from pure white to blue when not looked at straight-on.

A new owner of the Samsung Galaxy Tab S2 8.0 sent me images that indicate the Super AMOLED screens of the Samsung Galaxy Tab S2 8.0 can display actual white at different angles.

This contradicts what I’ve seen so far at Best Buy and Barnes & Noble with demo models.

Diagonal bars in the first one is the screen refresh rate being caught by the camera sensor:

SamsungGalaxyTabS280NoBlueK001

I’ve seen that refresh capture in some YouTube videos as well.

This is white:

SamsungGalaxyTabS280NoBlueK002

This also is white:

SamsungGalaxyTabS280NoBlueK003

And this is again white:

SamsungGalaxyTabS280NoBlueK004

Yet this is blue:

SamsungGalaxyTabS280NoBlueK005

The difference?

The white ones had the Display Setting for Reading Mode.

However, I am completing this post live at Best Buy. I’ve tried all the screen modes on the S2 8.0. I still get blue and sometimes a ghostly shimmer. Ugh.

Earlier, I tried the iPad Mini 3. I noticed the screen whites shifted too, to a sort of dimmer white (gray?). But it didn’t annoy me like the S2.

And a few moments ago, I tried the Insignia Flex Elite 7.85. At a steep angle from portrait top, white stays pure white. At a steep angle from portrait bottom, it becomes a dimmer white (gray?) — with a similar but less pronounced change from steep side angles.

Unfortunately, I’m at a Best Buy that lacks any version of the Asus ZenPad S 8.0 to test. Maybe I will see about doing that tomorrow.

I was hoping my test of the S2 today would be an unequivocal win for it.

It was not.

3 Comments

Filed under iPad Mini Clones

3 responses to “Samsung Galaxy Tab S2 8.0 Super AMOLED: NO Blue Shift?!

  1. FM

    I think a reason is that white OLED color is not really white but produced by a mix of RGB OLED colors. In the actual world there are no white LEDs, white LED light bulbs are usually blue LED with blue filtered out, which is why low quality ones look terrible. Which is why mixes of RGB work to generate most of the visible colors.

    A LCD uses a white backlight which is tuned to white, at varying levels of quality, so the white you see is constant.

    Here is an article LG mentions their use of white OLED technology is better than others.
    http://news.oled-display.net/lg-display-explain-the-advantages-of-curved-oled-television-devices/

  2. Robert Jasiek

    Can the user override presets and manually configure set RGB color intensities (e.g. to 100% 97% 94%), as one can for a good desktop monitor, where thereby I create pleasent colours and my preferred reading mode?

Leave a Reply

