Nook Glowlight Plus: Hidden Browser Trick Works?

I’ll have to go back to B&N today and try this.

I just haven’t kept up and there’s a new way to invoke the browser trick the Nook Simple Touch had.

See the video after the break.

Downloading doesn’t seem to be supported in that version. But I wonder if I’d be able to see a Google Books PDF streamed via the Google Books site itself? That would at least give me some idea of what they would look like on the device.

Just in case, let me put a direct link to one.

And further just in case, some exported pages I can see directly if I can view this post:

People001

People002

People003

The thing about The People of the Abyss is that I read the original of the scan ages ago. It’s a small hardcover and the pages are about Nook screen-sized. Perhaps fifty percent — or even more — of the Google Books PDFs I have are that size too. So this would be a good peek at the possible future.

Same-day update: Nate of The Digital Reader in a Comment shot it all down:

That’s for the old model. The Plus doesn’t have a social menu.

He should know. Unlike me, he owns one.

And I should have made it clear that the YouTube video was for the prior model. I knew that, but thought the social stuff was still there. Doh!

Previously here:

Nook Glowlight Plus Rooting Notes #3
Nook Glowlight Plus Notes #2
Nook Glowlight Plus Notes #1
Nano-Fondle: New Nook Glowlight Plus

3 Comments

Filed under B&N Nook Touch Rooting

3 responses to “Nook Glowlight Plus: Hidden Browser Trick Works?

  1. That’s for the old model. The Plus doesn’t have a social menu.

  2. Under the account section, there is an option for Facebook connection (but not Twitter). Pressing it does nothing.

    Perhaps that was supposed to be set up via the website? If so, I can’t find it.

Leave a Reply

