Let’s Compare iPad Mini And Clones Weights

PicardOrangePADD
Picard with orange PADD [Source]

In my time holding the Samsung Galaxy Tab S2 Nook Edition at Barnes & Noble, I realized that I’d be holding one of these tablets for a lonnnng time while reading.

So I thought I’d investigate weight.

These weights are for WiFi-only versions, except for the Archos Diamond Tab which has 3/4G included by default:

DeviceWeights01

How low will the upcoming “iPad Mini Air” go in terms of weight?

How soon before an iPad Mini-sized tablet is the weight of a Kindle?

And can a Kindle get lighter?

Note that the iPhone 6 Plus weighs less than a Kindle Voyage: 6.07 ounces (172 grams).

As a point of comparison, Don Linn kindly weighed a fat mass-market paperback for me, John Barth’s The Sot-Weed Factor (what he had handy). It’s 0.8 pounds. That’s 12.80 ounces.

So tablets are already below the range of fat paperbacks I’ve read in the past, such as Dune and Atlas Shrugged.

TheLotterys01e01006

How long before they’re as light as an Og Mandino mass-market paperback? Amazon lists The Greatest Secret in the World with a shipping weight of 2.40 ounces (68 grams). That’s still lighter than a Kindle.

In my research, I found it odd that there’s no chart showing the weights of mass-market paperbacks. Seems someone somewhere slipped up in Marketing.

Created in 2007, a bit dated, and this version of the video with subtitles begins after about a minute of dark screen (fast forward):

For those unable to view the video: Part Of The eBook Vision

4 Comments

Filed under Amazon Kindle, Digital Overthrow, iOS, iPad Mini Clones, Video

4 responses to “Let’s Compare iPad Mini And Clones Weights

  1. Ric Day

    I don’t think you can look at weight without also looking at battery life. The fastest way to shed weight in a tablet or a phone is to use less battery capacity.

  2. At 280 grams = 0.6173 pounds = 9.877 oz, my MMPB copy of DUNE weighs in between the Samsung Galaxy Tab S2 8.0 and the Asus ZenPad S 8.0 “Pro.”

Leave a comment