Daily Archives: October 16, 2011

Wall Street Occuposers Have Their Own One Percent

A Look at Occupy Wall Street’s Supply Room

Some of the original occupiers are also reportedly looking to move out of the park and into a donated Wall Street apartment.

Wow, first the General Assembly turns out to “democracy theater,” and now this!

Cold, hard concrete and weather for the unbathed “troops.” Plush mattresses, heat, toilets, showers, privacy, and quiet for the self-appointed one percenters.

It’s all turning out just like I wrote:

I’ve seen beneath your rock. It’s as corrupt as all the rest.

Fuck your money. Fuck your movement. Fuck your politics. And fuck you.

The highest value in this world, beyond money, beyond even love, is trust.

And you just threw away all of that.

Previously in the Protest Category

Leave a comment

Filed under Protest

This Is What Democracy Looks Like?

Occupy Wall Street shows muscle, raises $300K

While on the streets, moments of madness occasionally erupt in the protest crowd — accompanied by whiffs of marijuana, grungy clothing and disarray — order prevails at the storage site.

It doubles as a sort of Occupy Wall Street central command post, with strategic meetings that are separate from the “general assembly” free-for-alls in the park.

Boldfaced emphasis added by me.

Ah, so there’s a “We’re Better Than Them, Let’s Get Shit Done” group after all.

So the General Assembly is a farce.

Shame! Shame! The whole world is watching!

Previously in the Protest Category

Leave a comment

Filed under Protest

Occupy Wall Street: October 16, 2011

All photos taken today, Sunday October 16, 2011 between 8:30-9AM. Resized and resampled to VGA, click any to enlarge. Photos appear in the order they were taken.

Some photos that I wanted to publish will not appear. Listen: I’m not stupid. Engaging me in conversation when I take a picture so you can link my face with a published picture just isn’t going to work, got that? Give it up, kiddies. I’ll just start taking so many goddammed photos that you’ll never, ever be able to link any single one to me. And I’ll be certain to stand next to other people taking pictures too. Is that all clear? I have more ways to obscure myself than you can devise to suss me out. So give it up.

This morning I decided to start from the other side of Liberty Plaza. I was interested to see if NYPD was going to actually follow-through with what I thought would be the first step of a siege.

Continue reading

13 Comments

Filed under Protest