Daily Archives: October 15, 2010

The Secret Of Why We’re So Smart But Not Rich

Goodbye Microsoft, Hello Facebook!

Good ideas are a dime a dozen. Great ideas are usually laughed at. Neither sees the light of day without you taking action. Do the work to prove your idea, or stop talking about it. In an entrepreneurship class in college, I pitched the idea of an online grocery delivery service and got laughed off stage. Hurt, but convinced of my great genius, I returned the following week to pitch the idea of online movie rentals using the postal service. I called it NetVideo. Everyone thought it was absurd. I used to tell this story to bolster what I thought was my streak of unrecognized, prognosticating technical genius. These days, I tell the story to remind myself that in the end, only action and execution matter.

Boldfaced emphasis added by me.

I’ll let that stand as it is.

Leave a comment

Filed under Quoted, Reference

This Way To The eGress eBook eSuckers

Some days I despair.

It’s not enough that there are more “services” than I ever want to keep track of that are ever-so-eager to help “writers” get “published” with an “eBook.”

Now Borders just went an added their own service to … what? Fend off Barnes & Noble’s weirdly-named PubIt! service?

Um, why?

Continue reading

2 Comments

Filed under Book Creation