Daily Archives: October 16, 2010

eBook Format-Shifting Goes Legit

I violate my semi-hard policy of not linking to HuffPo or Konrath — and because I’m double-teamed by them and must link.

eBooks And The Ease Of Self-Publishing

“Draculas” will be exclusive on Kindle for a year, as a favor to Amazon since they’ve been so helpful. But those with other brands of ereaders will be able to buy “Draculas” from Amazon and convert it to the format of their choice with free ebook software like Calibre or Stanza. We have instructions for doing this on our website, http://www.draculasthebook.com.

That is exactly why people strip DRM.

Continue reading

1 Comment

Filed under Amazon Kindle, Book Creation, Digital Overthrow, eInk Devices

Congratulations To Writer R. J. Keller!

Embracing change

Some exciting news to report on here at the ole blog. Waiting For Spring has been picked up by AmazonEncore, the publishing arm of Amazon.com.

Woot!

I’m so happy for her!

I hope it sells big so she never has to ignore cleaning corners again. (That’s an inside joke, if you can’t tell.)

Here’s the pre-order link!

1 Comment

Filed under Amazon Kindle, Writer

R.I.P. Benoit Mandelbrot, Who Laughed Last

Good ideas are a dime a dozen. Great ideas are usually laughed at.

Benoit Mandelbrot, Mathematician, Dies at 85

In a seminal book, “The Fractal Geometry of Nature,” published in 1982, Dr. Mandelbrot defended mathematical objects that his colleagues had dismissed as “monstrous” and “pathological.”

I wonder whatever became of those colleagues?

Will they ever have noteworthy obits?

Leave a comment

Filed under R.I.P.

eBook Pricing Goes Outright Insane!

I downloaded a free Kindle book this morning and happened to look at the list of other books The Kindle Store said were somehow connected to it.

One had an interesting title: The Information Officer.

So I went to look and had my first shock.

Continue reading

43 Comments

Filed under Pricing